Funicular to Montecatini Alto

Il vagone rosso della funicolare

The historic funicular, with its two red carriages – Gigio and Gigia – was inaugurated in 1898 in the presence of Giuseppe Verdi.  It acts as a link between the lower part of the city and the hillside village of Montecatini Alto, offering a view of the city immersed in the harmony of greenery.

The two carriages meet in the middle of the route “waving at each other”. They are an alternative way to climb up to the village, allowing you to enjoy the surrounding landscape to the fullest. At the same time, this is followed by the pedestrian section known as the ‘Corta’ (the short route), immersed in the green of the forest and olive trees, which also allows visitors to reach the city on foot.

Originally, the funicular used a large steam boiler located downstream for its operation. However, from 1921, it was replaced by an electric motor drive. Over the years, there have been a few interruptions to the funicular service. In 1944 due to wartime causes, it became unusable until 1949. Furthermore, in 1977, technical adjustments were necessary, which caused it to be closed until 1982. 

Image gallery


Via Armando Diaz 22, Montecatini Terme (PT)

Telephon: 0572 766862 – 329 4059913
Prices: Andata 4€ Andata e ritorno 7,50€

Opening time

Open from March 25th to October 31st, every day of the week, from 9.30am to 1pm and from 2.30pm to midnight with departures every 30 minutes.